Home > Blog > Who are the commentators of the 2020 edition of the IPL

Who are the commentators of the 2020 edition of the IPL

The 2020 season of the Indian Premier League promises to be a highly entertaining experience that will be enjoyed by hundreds of millions of fans. Considering that India is a territory with more than a billion inhabitants, it is natural to expect that the comments for the matches that take place in that championship will be offered in various languages.

The organization of the tournament has announced that the comments of all contests of this edition of the IPL will be offered in 4 languages, which ensures that the tournament will be enjoyed by the largest possible number of people. Those languages include:

  • Hindi;
  • Telugu;
  • Tamil;
  • and of course, English!

All these 4 languages are among the most widely used in India. Therefore, by offering comments in all of them it is ensured that a very broad audience can be reached. This fact becomes even more important during the current season. This is because due to the COVID pandemic, for now fans will not be allowed at the stadiums. Sure, the matches will continue to be played. However, the only way that fans will have to watch them is by streaming platforms of TV stations.

Who are the English commentators for the 2020 edition of the IPL

The list of English commentators for the 2020 edition of the Indian Premier League is the broadest one. This is not really surprising. As the most spoken language not only in India, but in the entire world, when taking account of both native and learned languages, offering good coverage in English is essential to ensure that the IPL reaches huge popularity outside of India.

There was a lot of excitement and uncertainty before Star, which is the current main broadcaster of the IPL, finally revealed its final list of commentators. There are many new names and others that repeat from previous seasons. There are some significant omissions as well, which have caused their own bit of controversy.

Overall, it has been quite interesting to observe the excitement that the reveal of the line-up of commentators can produce. It can be argued that it can be as exciting as when the line-up of players is announced before the beginning of a match.

Some names that people who listen to the English comments of the IPL will become familiar with are L Sivaramakrishnan, Ian Bishop, Harsha Bhogle, and many others.

At the same time, Star has another list of commentators that is called the Star Sports Select Dugout. Among these individuals it is possible to find names like Brett Lee, Graeme Swann, Dean Jones and more.

A significant omission of the English line-up is Sanjay Manjrekar. He is a former player of different teams of the IPL and also from the India National Cricket Team. He used to be an active commentator for Star, however, he has been out of the microphone for more than a year now. There is a lot of speculation about the reasons behind this exclusion. However, no official information about this has been given.

The Hindi commentators for the 2020 season of the IPL

Despite how universal the English language can be across India and the world, it is not possible to offer good coverage of the Indian Premier League in the country relying solely on this language. Almost half of the population, a bit more than 500 million people, has Hindi as their primary language. That’s why for many years the different broadcasters of the competition have been offering a line-up of Hindi commentators as well.

There are many names that probably will resonate a lot in the minds of the people who follow this championship in this language. Among them it is possible to find Sanjay Bangar, Nikhil Chopra, Kiran More, and others. During all match days, they will do their best in order to ensure that Hindi speakers will get all the passion and excitement that only the Indian Premier League can produce.

There are Telugu IPL commentators 2020 as well

Telugu is another language spoken by a large number of people in India. Sure, at approximately 80 million speakers it is less than 10 percent of the overall population of the country. However, this number by itself is larger than the population of several entire countries.

This also means that offering comments in Telugu for the exciting contests that take place in the IPL is essential to include that part of the Indian population. MSK Prasad is one of the names that will be part of the Telugu roster of the current broadcaster of the Indian Premier League. For those who might not know, he is a highly successful former cricket coach, who this time will put all his experience in bringing to watchers high-quality comments in this language, so they can understand what is taking place during each contest.

However, he will not be alone, as other names will also be featured in this roster. Some of them include Ashish Reddy Ammana and Kalyan Krishna Doddapaneni. In general, all of them will ensure that the Telugu-speaking part of India will get first-class coverage of the fantastic and exciting IPL.

The IPL 2020 season will also have Tamil commentators

There will be plenty of names in the Tamil-speaking commentator roster of the different broadcasters of the IPL. Probably one of the names that will resonate the most with fans is Krishnamachari Srikkanth. He is also a former cricket coach, and has a unique understanding about the sport that can bring a great perspective to all fans who follow it.

Another illustrious name that will be part of this list of commentators is Abhinav Mukund. He is a former batsman that recently joined the broadcaster. Other names that will also be part of the Tamil commentators include Radhakrishnan Sreenivasan, Bhavna Balakrishnan, among many more.

Get Bonus
SHare your comment
Leave a comment