The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the biggest annual cricket tournament on the planet. It is the most demanded sporting event in India, appealing to millions of spectators and bettors across the country and beyond. Also, the IPL takes the second rate of the most played sports league globally.
The IPL 2021 tournament is the fourteenth season since its advent in the Indian sports industry. Usually, it competes between March and April annually by eight squads representing eight different states or cities in India.

IPL Background

The IPL was established in 2007 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). It was launched under the franchise-based Twenty20 Cricket competition. Previously, the league’s format was equal to the Premier League of England and the NBA in the United States. Its first season had a start-off in New Delhi, 2008. In order to find out the owners of the new league, the auction was held with an overall base price of about $400 million. The winning trade participants were announced at the end of the auction. Also, the cities were determined where the major league teams were to be based. They are Mumbai, Kolkata, Delhi, Chennai, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Mohali, and Jaipur. Since then, the IPL has gained tremendous attraction and attention worldwide.

IPL Tournament Format

The IPL tournament consists of two phases. The first phase is determined as the double round-robin tournament. According to it, every team contests with another team twice: once at home and once away. They gain two points for every win. One point is given to both teams when the competition finishes with no result. Thus, at the end of this phase, four teams with a higher rank of points promote the playoffs — the second phase of IPL.
At playoffs, advanced teams are to compete in a fascinating way. First, the top two teams in the standings involve in the «Qualifier 1» match. The winning team automatically promotes the championship. Hence, the loser is not eliminated.
The third and fourth-ranked teams participate in the «Eliminate» match. The losing squad is eliminated from the playoffs. The winning team faces the side that lost «Qualifier 1». This contest defines the second position in the finals called «Qualifier 2». The entire IPL 2021 tournament includes 60 matches.

IPL Squad

The IPL 2021 season featured eight teams to take place. These major teams hold each game:
Chennai Super Kings;
Delhi Capitals;
Kolkata Knight Riders;
Mumbai Indians;
Punjab Kings (renamed from Kings XI Punjab, February 17, 2021);
Rajasthan Royals;
Royal Challengers Bangalore;
Sunrisers Hyderabad!
Mumbai Indians have been the leading team in winning the IPL championship. They are titleholders of both the 2019 and 2020 seasons of the IPL.
Despite the Covid-19 pandemic, the IPL 2021 season has been rescheduled, and some preparation actions have been conducting still.